Buy Percona ServicesBuy Now!

The State of ProxySQL, 2020 Edition – Percona Live ONLINE Talk Preview

 | October 16, 2020 |  Posted In: MySQL, PLO-2020-10, Tools

Percona Live Online Agenda Slot: Wed 21 Oct • New York 7:30 a.m. • London 12:30 p.m. • New Delhi 5:00 p.m. • Singapore 7:30 p.m.

Abstract

ProxySQL is a high performance, high available, protocol aware proxy for MySQL. 2.0 has been GA for some time now, and there have been a lot of changes that come in point releases as well, such that you can benefit from them.

Listen to René, the founder of ProxySQL, take you through some of the new features in 2.0, and how you can effectively utilize them. Some topics that are covered include:

– LDAP authentication
– SSL for client connections
– AWS Aurora usage
– Native clustering support for Percona XtraDB Cluster (PXC) / Galera Cluster / group replication
– Kubernetes deployments

This is the talk to take you from intermediate ProxySQL user to expert in the 2.0 feature set. There will also be talk about the roadmap for what is coming next.

Why is your talk exciting?

This talk is exciting because it will bring to the community all the latest features in ProxySQL, and short term plans for even more exciting features.

Who would benefit the most from your talk?

Devs, DBAs, sysadmins: all users interested in optimizing and manging traffic against MySQL backends can benefit from this talk, no matter their level of experience.

What other presentations are you most looking forward to?

All the talks on the Percona Live agenda are exciting, but the two talks that rank very high in my list are “Why Public Database as a Service is Prime for Open Source Disruption” by Peter Zaitsev, and “Sharding: DIY or Out of the Box Solution?” by Art van Scheppingen.

 

René Cannaò

René founded ProxySQL in 2016 after developing it since 2013. He has over 15 years of experience as Database Administrator mostly on MySQL, working as Senior MySQL Support Engineer at Sun/Oracle, Senior Operational DBA at Blackbird, and consulting for small and large companies like Dropbox. In this period he build an analytic and problem-solving mindset, he is always eager to take on new challenges, especially if they are related to high performance.

Leave a Reply