Buy Percona ServicesBuy Now!

State of the Dolphin – Percona Live ONLINE Talk Preview

 | May 12, 2020 |  Posted In: Events, MySQL

Percona Live Online Agenda Slot: Tue 19 May • New York 11:00 a.m. • London 4:00 p.m. • New Delhi 8:30 p.m.

Abstract

I will talk about the latest improvements in MySQL 8.0.20 and the MySQL Engineering Team’s steady progress with MySQL 8.0. These include solutions like Document Store, InnoDB Cluster, and InnoDB ReplicaSet where MySQL Router and MySQL Shell are playing an important role. All of these Oracle solutions are completely open source.

Why is your talk exciting?

This talk is exciting because we will be looking at all the latest features in MySQL 8.0 Sadly my time will be probably too short to detail them all and cover the open source code contributions we’ve received from users.

Who would benefit the most from your talk?

All MySQL users would benefit, whether newbies or veterans. You would be surprised how many people still have wrong assumptions about MySQL! So this talk is really for anyone seeking a fuller experience with MySQL, whether DBAs, developers, or others.

What other presentations are you most looking forward to?

I’m always very happy to learn new things about Vitess from Morgan Tocker and ProxySQL from René Cannaò.

Frédéric Descamps

"@lefred" has been consulting OpenSource and MySQL for over 20 years. After graduating in Management Information Technology, Frédéric Descamps started his career as a developer for an ERP under HPUX. He will then opt for a career in the world of open-source by joining one of the first Belgian start-up dedicated 100% to free projects around GNU/Linux. It is in 2011 that lefred joined Percona, one of the leading MySQL-based specialists. He decided to join the MySQL Community Team in 2016 as a MySQL Community Manager for EMEA & APAC. Frédéric is also a regular speaker of OpenSource Conferences. His blog mostly dedicated to MySQL is http://lefred.be

Leave a Reply